Renewing Your Ohio Real Estate License

How do I renew my Ohio real estate license?

  1. Complete 30-Hours of approved continuing education
  2. Log in to the Ohio Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate eLicense Center
  3. Enter your license information and pay the appropriate fee

What is the fee for renewing my Ohio real estate license?

  • Salespersons: $135
  • Brokers: $180

How do I tell which continuing education requirements I have completed?

The certification number includes a letter that serves as a course-type designator

  • D – Core Law
  • G – Civil Rights
  • C – Canon of Ethics
  • E – Elective*
  • F – Computer Specific Elective*
  • B – Computer Basic Elective*
    *A licensee may only take a maximum of 15 hours of computer electives

How can I find my Ohio real estate continuing education due date?

Visit www.com.ohio.gov/real to look up your license requirements

Do my 10-hour post-education courses count towards my 30 hours of continuing education?

No, the state of Ohio requires you to complete the 10-hour pre-licensure course and 30 hours of continuing education.

I have extra continuing education credits; can I use them for the next renewal cycle?

You may roll over 10 hours. These hours will count for elective courses, they will not count towards the 9 core course hours.

Where can I find Ohio real estate continuing education?

Visit www.realestatetraininginstitute.com and choose from the selection of state-approved courses.

Who Submits Completed Continued Education?

Ohio Division of Real Estate requires that both the course sponsor and the licensee submit certificates of completion. Real Estate Training Institute reports course completions to the Division within two business days of completion. A course completion certificate will be available to print immediately upon completion of the course. It is the licensee's responsibility to submit all completed continuing education certificates to the Division when renewing their license.

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION

Start Now!
Choose Your State

Using Drones to Spruce Up Your Listings

The real estate business is changing. The market is increasingly competitive and most prospective home buyers check online listings before contacting an agent or viewing homes in person. Drones can help your online listings leave a lasting impression on potential clients.

How do I use drones to enhance my real estate listings?

Drones are a great tool for capturing the scope of homes and properties. For example, drones can be used to provide a moving tour through the inside of large homes, giving prospective buyers a much better idea of property layout and dimensions than photos. Drones are also useful for displaying properties with magnificent views or large yards. Often drones are used to take video or pictures from high altitudes to capture a full view of the yard in relation to natural surroundings such as lakes or woods. The photo above is a particularly dramatic example of using a drone to capture the magnitude and beauty of properties.

Should you take your own drone photos?

Many real estate professionals choose to take their own drone photos due to the costs and hassle of hiring a drone pilot. A few of the key motivators are listed below.

  • Certified drone pilots can cost up to $200/hour - this adds up quickly once you consider travel time between properties.
  • As a real estate professional, you are already accommodate the schedules of property buyers and sellers.  You don't have to be subject to the drone pilot's schedule as well- if you get your own certification you can take photos on your own time.

Do I have to follow any regulations to use drones for my real estate listings?

Yes, all commercial drone pilots must possess a Remote Pilot in Command Certificate which can be obtained by passing the FAA Remote Pilot in Command Exam.

  1. Pay the $5 fee and register any aircraft that weighs more than 0.55lbs.
  2. Pass the $150 Small UAS Remote Pilot Exam – exam prep is available here.
  3. Pass a TSA background check
  4. File FAA Form 8710-13

Is there exam prep available to help me study for the FAA Remote Pilot in Command Exam?

Yes! Real Estate Training Institute has created an online HD video FAA Remote Pilot Exam Prep Program with licensed real estate agent and certified drone pilot, Greg McMaster. This course is available 24/7 from any internet capable device so you can study on your own time!

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION

Start Now!
Choose Your State

Hot Real Estate: Shopping Center Sold in Saint Paul

A multi-tenant shopping center in a growing area is now off the market, after being sold for $3.1 million.

Mid-America Real Estate corp. sold the Lexington Shoppes, 34,000 square feet of retail area. The shopping center is in the booming neighborhood of Saint Paul, which has seen increasing real estate interest in recent years.

The market is hot, and for good reason.

Saint Paul is 20 minutes outside of Minneapolis and a rising business star. According to the Greater Minneapolis-Saint Paul Regional Economic Development Partnership, the labor force has increased faster than the rest of the state and country. It’s also expected to keep growing by 5.2 percent over the next half-a-decade.

Saint Paul consistently ranks one of the best places to live, for factors including low housing costs and cost of living.

Saint Paul’s community is attractive to potential homeowners for its sports, recreation and art and attraction. The city ranks has a high density of artistic opportunities, and large numbers of theaters – only second, behind New York City.

The partnership’s website also highlights that the region is conducive to working moms and young college grads. Income opportunities and affordable housing make it an attractive place for people to settle down, both young and old.

Price-per-square-foot in homes on the market increased from last year and closed-sales went up too.

Saint Paul is definitely a city to keep your eye on.

For more data, visit http://maar.stats.10kresearch.com/docs/lmu/x/SaintPaul?src=page

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION

Start Now!
Choose Your State

Step-by-Step Guide to Getting a Broker License

Michigan is one of the only real estate markets expected to grow in 2019. If you're ready to upgrade your salesperson license, here is everything you need to know.

How do I get a Michigan real estate broker license?

  1. Complete 90 hours of approved real estate coursework within 36 months of application, unless licensed continuously.
    All potential brokers in Michigan must complete an approved 90 Hour course. Real Estate Training Institute offers this course online in HD video so you can fit it into your busy schedule. The onscreen instructor, Gwyn Besner is available to answer any questions you have while taking the course.
    Note: if you have been a practicing attorney for 5 or more years you only need to take 30hrs to become a licensed broker.
  2. Submit your real estate license application. Go to www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license. Upon accessing iCOLA, you will be asked to create an account, pay your license fee, and submit your license application electronically.
    Note: You must have at least 3 years’ full-time experience as a real estate salesperson, or equivalent experience before applying as a broker (Rule 205).
  3. Register with PSI and pay the $76 exam fee.
    To schedule your exam date, call PSI at 1-800-733-9267. Use the 24/7 Automated Registration System or speak with a representative between 7:30 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. ET. You will be informed immediately after the exam whether you passed or not. PSI will import your exam data into your iCOLA record within 48 hours of successful completion of the exam.

Where is the Michigan real estate broker exam offered?

  • Gaylord
  • Grand Rapids
  • Holt
  • Marquette
  • Southfield

What are the initial real estate licensing fees in Michigan?

Michigan operates on three-year cycles so initial licensing fees decrease each year. 2018 is the last year of a licensing cycle to fees are as follows:
Brokers & Associate Brokers: $71
Branch Office: $30

Who do I contact at the state level about getting a Michigan real estate license?

Contact Information

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons
Website:  http://www.michigan.gov/realestate
Phone:  517-241-9288

Licensing References

Michigan Real Estate – Frequently Asked Questions
Michigan Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons — Occupational Code


Licensing Resources

Should You Get A Real Estate License?

Step-by-Step Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson

Why You Should Upgrade to A Broker License

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED 90-HOUR PRELICENSE COURSE

Why You Should Upgrade to A Broker License

If you are currently working as a real estate salesperson I have one question for you, why haven't you upgraded to a broker license? Brokers make more money and have more freedom to create their own schedules. While you must be licensed as a salesperson for three years before applying for a broker license, it is never too early to get started on your 90-hour prelicense program. Below are a few common questions and answers about obtaining a broker license.

Question 1: Why should I become a broker?

  • Be your own boss. As a salesperson, you work for a licensed broker. Getting a broker license means you can open your own practice and work alone or hire a team of salespeople to work under you. If you choose to work alone you can keep all of your commissions. If you choose to hire salespeople you can either keep a portion of their commissions or you can charge a variety of fees and allow your salespeople to keep all of their commission.
  • Make an average of $23,000 more per year. Brokers make more money whether they're working with salespeople or not. Between keeping their entire commission and receiving a cut of their salespeople's commission or yearly fees, they make an average of $23,000 more per year.
  • Increase your marketability. Individuals buying and selling high priced homes often prefer working with a broker. Brokers have a reputation for being industry experts with a strong dedication to the industry. As we all know, the higher the home price, the higher the commission!
  • Run your own property management company. Property management companies work as a middle man between tenants and property owners. Since the rental industry is hot right now, the ability to run a property management company is a big benefit.

Question 2: Why should I upgrade my license when the market is expected to decline?

Most experts are predicting a drop off in real estate sales over the next few years. Lucky for you, Michigan is expected to be exempt from the rest of the nation's decline.

Several sources believe Michigan's real estate market will continue to grow even as rising mortgage rates slow the market for sellers in other areas of the country. Home prices in Grand Rapids are forecast to grow at 8.2%, the largest home price increase in the nation. In fact, real estate resources nationwide are encouraging investment in Grand Rapids and the city comes in second for the hottest real estate markets for millennials.

Grand Rapids isn't the only area of Michigan experiencing growth. Numbers recently released by Detroit Mayor Mike Duggan's office show residential property values have increased by an average 12% in more than 90% of Detroit neighborhoods. The rest of the state is expected to experience continually growing housing prices but a declining number of homes on the market. While this may sound like bad news initially, growing home prices mean higher commission rates which can make up for the lower volume of sales.

In other words, while the rest of the country is preparing for a decreasing real estate market, Michigan can expect to see continued growth in urban areas and stable growth in the rural north. Additionally, even if the Michigan real estate market drops off after a few years, brokers are uniquely positioned to continue making a steady income since they receive a cut from all salespersons commissions.

Question 3: How do I get started?

  1. Complete 90 hours of approved real estate coursework within 36 months of application, unless licensed continuously.
    Note: if you have been a practicing attorney for 5 or more years you only need to take 30hrs to become a licensed broker.
  2. Submit your real estate license application. Go to www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license. Upon accessing iCOLA, you will be asked to create an account, pay your license fee, and submit your license application electronically.
  3. Register with PSI and pay the $76 exam fee

Find detailed instructions here.


Licensing Resources

Should You Get A Real Estate License?

Step-by-Step Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson

Step-by-Step Guide to Getting a Broker License

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED 90-HOUR PRELICENSE COURSE

Step-by-Step Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson

Michigan is one of the only real estate markets expected to grow in 2019. If you're ready to get licensed, here is everything you need to know.

How do I get a Michigan real estate salesperson license?

  1. Complete an approved 40 hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course.
    All potential salespeople in Michigan must complete an approved 40 Hour course. Real Estate Training Institute offers this course online in HD video so you can fit it into your busy schedule. The onscreen instructor, Gwyn Besner is available to answer any questions you have while taking the course.
  2. Submit your real estate license application.
    Go to www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license. Upon accessing iCOLA, you will be asked to create an account, pay your license fee, and submit your license application electronically.
    NOTE: You do not need to have a broker at the time you submit the license application. If you list your employing broker’s 10-digit number when applying, please inform your employer that you have submitted your license application. Your employing broker should then access his or her iCOLA account and confirm sponsorship.  Broker information may be supplied to the State of Michigan at a later time using the Employee Broker Notification Form. Your license application will remain in a “Pending” Status in their system until broker sponsorship is confirmed, or for one year from the date of application.
  3. Register with PSI and pay the $79 exam fee.
    To schedule your exam date, call PSI at 1-800-733-9267 or register online. Use the 24/7 Automated Registration System or speak with a representative between 7:30 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. ET.
  4. You will be informed immediately after the exam whether you passed or not. PSI will import your exam data into your iCOLA record within 48 hours of successful completion of the exam.  Once your exam score is received by the Department and your broker is confirmed, the State-issued paper wall license and a pocket card will be mailed to your employing broker’s main office.

Where is the Michigan real estate salesperson exam offered?

  • Gaylord
  • Grand Rapids
  • Holt
  • Marquette
  • Southfield

What are the initial real estate licensing fees in Michigan?

Michigan operates on a three-year cycle so initial licensing fees decrease each year. 2018 is the last year of a licensing cycle and fees are as follows:
Brokers & Associate Brokers: $71
Salesperson: $62
Branch Office: $30

Who do I contact at the state level about getting a Michigan real estate license?

Contact Information

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons
Website:  http://www.michigan.gov/realestate
Phone:  517-241-9288

Licensing References

Michigan Real Estate – Frequently Asked Questions
Michigan Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons — Occupational Code


Licensing Resources

Should You Get A Real Estate License?

Why You Should Upgrade to A Broker License

Step-by-Step Guide to Getting a Broker License

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED 40-HOUR PRELICENSE COURSE

Should You Get A Real Estate License?

Real estate is a fluctuating industry with potential for large profits and a flexible schedule. The question is, "Is it right for you?"

Question 1: Is the Michigan real estate market going to continue growing?

Several sources believe Michigan's real estate market will continue to grow even as rising mortgage rates slow the market for sellers in other areas of the country. Home prices in Grand Rapids are forecast to grow at 8.2%, the largest home price increase in the nation. In fact, real estate resources nationwide are encouraging investment in the Grand Rapids area. The city also ranks second for the hottest real estate markets for millennials.

Grand Rapids isn't the only area of Michigan experiencing growth. Numbers recently released by Detroit Mayor Mike Duggan's office show residential property values have increased by an average of 12% in more than 90% of Detroit neighborhoods. The rest of the state is expected to experience continually growing housing prices but a declining number of homes on the market. While this may sound like bad news initially, growing home prices mean higher commission rates which can make up for the lower volume of sales.

In other words, while the rest of the country is preparing for a decreasing real estate market, Michigan can expect to see continued growth in urban areas and stable growth in the rural north.

Question 2: What makes a successful real estate salesperson?

Successful salespersons come in many forms, while it is not necessary to possess all of the below personality traits, these are a few that most success stories share.

  1. Social. This is a big one. You need to feel comfortable speaking to home buyers, other agents, and potential clients. Successful agents network constantly and put a lot of value in their earned relationships. This is key to getting referrals and growing your business.
  2. Self-motivated. Your broker probably won't want to hold your hand for very long. You need to be able to complete tasks and find clients without outside motivation.
  3. Relatable. Home buyers want a real estate agent they can trust. It is important that they feel you understand their needs and concerns on a personal level to assure the client you have their best interests in mind.
  4. Persistent. Sometimes your deals with fall through. Its a big part of the job that you cannot let discourage you.
  5. Analytical. Accomplished agents can determine which homes and clients have the highest chance of success.

Question 3: Can I fit this into my current schedule?

The short answer - probably. Many salespeople start out parttime, this is a great way to dip your toe into the waters without becoming overwhelmed with start-up fees. Your schedule can be as flexible as your clients allow, making it easy to work around another job.

Question 4: How do I get started?

  1. Complete an approved 40 hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals Course.
    All potential salespeople in Michigan must complete an approved 40 Hour course. Real Estate Training Institute offers this course online in HD video so you can fit it into your busy schedule. The onscreen instructor, Gwyn Besner is available to answer any questions you have while taking the course.
  2. Submit your real estate license application. Go to www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license.
  3. Register with PSI for your exam. The cost for the Salesperson or the Broker exam is $76 and the tests are timed (180 minutes).

You can find detailed instructions here.


Licensing Resources

Step-by-Step Guide to Becoming a Real Estate Salesperson

Why You Should Upgrade to A Broker License

Step-by-Step Guide to Getting a Broker License

 


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED 40-HOUR PRELICENSE COURSE

Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Renewal Courses

How do I renew my Virginia real estate license?

Licenses can be renewed no sooner than 60 days prior and no later than the expiration date. The state will send you a renewal card before your expiration date. If you do not receive your card you may send a renewal check payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and your registration number to:

Real Estate Board
Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, VA 23233

What continuing education do I need to renew my Virginia real estate license?

Virginia salespersons are required to complete 16-hours and brokers are required to complete 24. Real Estate Training Institute offers a complete 16-hour salesperson renewal package, as well as, individual courses.

When do I need to renew my Virginia real estate broker or salesperson license?

Licenses must be renewed every 2-years by the end of the original licensure month. You may renew your license up to 60 days before the deadline.

How much does it cost to renew my Virginia real estate license?

Broker: $80.00
Sales Agent: $65.00

Do I need continuing education if my Virginia real estate license is inactive?

No, you do not need continuing education to renew as inactive so long as you renew on time.

Who do I contact about my Virginia real estate license?

Real Estate Board
Licensing Section: (804) 367-8526 | REBoard@dpor.virginia.gov
Education Section: (804) 367-2406 | RESchool@dpor.virginia.gov
Board Office: (804) 367-8552
Fax: (866) 826-8863


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION

VIRGINIA SALESPERSON RENEWAL PACKAGE
16 Credit Hours

$79

Posted in CE

Georgia Real Estate License Renewal

What are my Georgia real estate continuing education requirements?

Salespersons and Brokers in Georgia must complete 36 hours of continuing education each four-year license cycle. 3 of the 36 hours must be in Georgia License Law.

How often must I renew my Georgia real estate license?

Georgia real estate licenses must be renewed every four years.

When do I need to renew my Georgia real estate license?

Real estate professionals are required to renew their real estate license no later than midnight of the renewal due date to avoid lapsing and incurring a late fee. The renewal period is open to licensees 120 days prior to their renewal date.

How do I renew my Georgia real estate license?

You can renew your license 24 hours a day, seven days a week, up to 120 days prior to the renewal date. You must renew by midnight of your renewal due date to avoid lapsing and incurring a late fee. You will need a password to renew online. If you already have a password for the online transactions, use the same password. If you do not, click here for instructions on how to establish a password.

How much does it cost to renew my Georgia real estate license?

$125 | Salesperson, Associate Broker or Broker
There is a $25 discount for using the online renewal.

I missed the due date for my Georgia real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

If you missed the license renewal date, your license is considered lapsed and you will need to reinstate the license. You will be able to reinstate your license online; a late fee will be charged.

Prior to reinstating a license online, each licensee must submit a “secure and verifiable document” for identification purposes and a “notarized affidavit” as detailed in the Lawful Presence Verification form, if not already on file with GREC.

Please allow five business days from the submission of your information for GREC to notate your license record so that you will be able to reinstate online.

Your license will be reinstated to an active status only if:

  • It is less than 30 days past due
  • Your license was in an active status prior to the renewal date
  • All required CE credits have been completed and posted to your record

In all other situations, your license will be reinstated to an inactive status. If you are reinstated to an inactive status, all required CE credits must be completed and posted to your record before you can hold an active license. To change your license status from inactive to active, please submit a Change Application.

If your license has lapsed for more than one year, you will NOT be able to reinstate your license online. You will need to use a Reinstatement Application and a late fee will be charged. After the commission processes your application, a new wall license and pocket card will be mailed to you within two business days.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Georgia real estate license is inactive?

No. However, Georgia law requires that any licensee with a license on inactive status for more than two years complete six hours of education for every year the license was inactive prior to returning to active status. Courses must be taken no more than one year prior to the date of the reactivation of the license.

Are your courses approved by Georgia Real Estate Commission?

Yes! Our school code is 7848. Course approval numbers are listed in the course title.

Do you report my continuing education to Georgia Real Estate Commission?

Yes. We will report your continuing education to the Georgia Real Estate Commission within 3 days of course completion. It will take 24-48 hours for your course completion to be reflected in GREC’s database. We also provide you with a printable certificate of completion available immediately after you complete your course.

How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?

Individual courses are available for six months from the date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the coursework for the full length of your licensing cycle (4 years).

Do I have to complete my Georgia real estate course at one time?

No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop. Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!

GEORGIA RENEWAL PACKAGE
36 Credit Hours

$149

GEORGIA 18-HOUR PACKAGE
18 Credit Hours

$89


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION

Colorado Real Estate Renewal FAQ

How do I renew my Colorado real estate license?

  1. Complete 24-hours of continuing education
  2. Colorado requires that brokers renew their license through their online system. You will need to register for an account if you do not already have one.
  3. Pay the $123 Renewal Fee

What are my Colorado real estate continuing education requirements?

Brokers in Colorado are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education each three-year licensing cycle. Half of those hours (12 hours) must be comprised of three different 4-hour Annual Commission Update Course. These courses are only available from January 1st through December 31st of their year and must be completed prior to December 31st. The remainder of the required hours (12) may be any combination of elective credit hours approved by DORA.

How much does it cost to renew my Colorado real estate license?

$123.00 | Broker Base Rate Renewal

Full fee schedule

How often must I renew my Colorado real estate license?

Colorado Broker licenses must be renewed every three years.

When do I need to renew my Colorado real estate license?

Currently, all Colorado broker licenses expire on the anniversary date of the date of issuance. However, starting January 1, 2018, all licenses will move to a December 31stexpiration date. DORA is currently ironing out the details.

I missed the due date for my Colorado real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

Yes. Brokers in Colorado may renew their license up to two years past their expiration date.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Colorado real estate license is inactive?

No. If your license is inactive you do not need to complete any continuing education. Prior to the reactivation your license, you will be required to show proof of completion of the required continuing education or completion of the 24-hour Broker Reactivation course.

If your license has been inactive for longer than three years, you MUST complete either:

  • The State portion of the Colorado Broker’s Exam, or
    • 48 hours in Colorado Contracts & Regulations and 24 hours in Real Estate Closings (for a total of 72 hours)

Where do I find Colorado approved real estate broker continuing education?

Real Estate Training Institute provides online video courses that are approved by the Colorado Division of Real Estate & Available 24/7!

Are your courses approved by Colorado Division of Real Estate?

Yes! Our course approval numbers are included in the course title.

How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?

Individual courses are available for six months from the date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the coursework for the full length of your licensing cycle (3 years).

A note about the Annual Commission Update course – per Colorado Department of Real Estate requirements, the Annual Commission Update course is only available during the calendar year that course pertains to, and it must be completed prior to December 31st of that year. For example, the current 24-hour complete package includes 2017, 2018, 2019 Annual Commission Update courses in addition to 12 elective hours. Only the 2017 Annual Commission Course has content that is available to be reviewed, and it must be completed prior to December 31, 2017. On January 1, 2018, the 2018 Annual Commission update will be made available to you, and the 2017 Annual Commission update will no longer be available.

Do I have to complete the course at one time?

No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop. Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!


COLORADO BROKER RENEWAL PACKAGE
24 Credit Hours

$169

COLORADO BROKER ELECTIVE PACKAGE
12 Credit Hours

$99


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION