FLORIDA REAL ESTATE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
Renewal Cycle: 2 years
Total Hours: 14 hours
- First renewal
- Sales Associates – 45 hours of commission approved education. Must be completed within 24 months of license issue.
- Brokers – 60 hours of commission approved education. Must be completed within 24 months of license issue.
- Subsequent renewals – 14 hours of continuing education; must include a 3-hour Florida Core Law course.
Renewal Deadline: Either March 31st or September 30th depending upon when you passed your test. Your expiration date is listed on your license.
FLORIDA REAL ESTATE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What are my Florida real estate continuing education requirements?
Sales Associates and Brokers in Florida are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education each two-year license cycle. Licensees must complete a 3-hour Florida Core Law course in order meet renewal requirements.
If this is your first license renewal you must complete additional education before you will be eligible to renew your license. Sales Associates must complete 45 hours of commission approved education, and Brokers must complete 60 hours of commission approved education prior to renewing the license.
NEW REQUIREMENT – Licensees who will need to renew their license by September 30, 2018 will need to complete a 3-hour Florida Core Law course, a 3-hour Ethics and Business Practices course and 8 hours of approved elective credit to be eligible to renew their license.
How often must I renew my Florida real estate license?
Florida Broker and Sales Associates licenses must be renewed every two years.
Florida Complete 14 hour Package #1
- 3 Hour Florida Real Estate Core Law (Approval #0018573)
- 3 Hour Florida Real Estate Environmental Issues (Approval #0018571)
- 3 Hour Florida Real Estate Agency (Approval #0018208)
- 3 Hour Drones in Real Estate (Approval #0018210)
- 2 Hour Code of Ethics (Approval #0018209)
$25.00Add to cart
Florida Complete 14 hour Package #2
- 3 Hour Florida Real Estate Core Law (Approval #0018573)
- 3 Hour Florida Real Estate Fair Housing (Approval #0018211)
- 4 Hour Lead Paint Awareness (Approval #0018225)
- 4 Hour Personal Safety and Self Defense (Approval #0018231)
$25.00Add to cart
When do I need to renew my Florida real estate license?
Florida real estate licenses expire either March 31st or September 30th, every other year. Your renewal date will be determined by the date that you passed your exam. Expiration dates are listed on your license.
Are your courses approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission?
Yes! Our provider number is 0007145. Course approval numbers are included in the course title.
Do you report my continuing education to the Florida Real Estate Commission?
Yes. We will report your course completion to the Florida Real Estate Commission. Rosters are submitted three times a week, and can take 24-48 hours to be reflected in the FREC database.
How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?
Individual courses are available for six months from date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the course work for the full length of your licensing cycle (2 years).
Do I have to complete the course at one time?
No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop. Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!
How do I renew my Florida real estate license?
Florida requires all real estate licensees to renew their license through their Online Service portal. If you have not already registered, you will need to do so before you may renew your license. Once you have registered, you will receive an email with a temporary password and then you will create your own unique, secure password. (Check your spam or junk mail folder if you don’t receive that email right away.) After you have successfully logged in you will be able to link your license to the online account you created.
How much does it cost to renew my Florida real estate license?
$64 | Sales Associates
$72 | Brokers
I missed the due date for my Florida real estate license renewal, can I still renew?
Yes. If you fail to complete the renewal process before your expiration, your license will become involuntary inactive, at which point you will have 12 months to complete the required continuing education, pay the renewal fee, and a late fee. You will not be eligible to operate while your license is involuntary inactive.
Failure to complete the 14-hour continuing education within 12 months after the expiration date will result in additional education requirements – 28 hours Reactive Education.
Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Florida real estate license is inactive?
Yes. All Florida real estate licensees are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education each licensing cycle whether they are Current/Active or Current/Inactive.
Are there any continuing education exemptions for Florida real estate licensees?
Yes. Any active member who is in good standing with the Florida Bar is exempt from the 14-hour continuing education requirement. To receive this exemption, the licensees will need to either have a copy of their Bar card or the Bar card membership number provided to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
Does Florida have reciprocity with other states?
Yes. Florida has mutual recognition with 7 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Mississippi, and Nebraska. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type of license if Florida if they meet the following qualifications:
- Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.
HOW TO OBTAIN A FLORIDA REAL ESTATE LICENSE
How do I obtain a Florida real estate license?
To become a licensed Sales Associate in Florida, you will need to complete the following steps:
Step 1: Meet the requirements
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- You must have a United States Social Security number to apply. Visit the Social Security Administration for information on how to obtain one.
- Must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Prior to sitting for the state exam, you must show proof of course completion of Florida approved 63-hour pre-license education for sales associates. The course is good for two years from the date of completion. An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site, and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip. The course is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education.
Step 2: Submit the application and other required documents
- Application – complete the application through Online Services, or submit the Printable Application.
- Fee – The application fee is $83.75 and may be paid using the Online Services or by including a personal check or money order with your application.
- Fingerprints – An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process.
Step 3: Pass the exam
- The examination is administered by Pearson Vue. After your application has been approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission you will be able to register to take your exam. The Candidate Information Booklet is a useful source to help guide you through the examination process. You must obtain at least a 75 out of 100 in order to pass this exam.
Step 4: Activate the License
- Activate your license using the DBPR RE 11 – Become Active – Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form, OR have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker’s online account.
Step 5: Complete your Post-licensing requirements
- Before you will be able to renew your real estate license, you will need to complete 45 hours of approved post-licensing education. Even if your license is inactive, you’ll need to complete this requirement before the license expires.