Kentucky Real Estate Continued Education Information


Total Hours: 6 hours

Requirements: 

Kentucky will require new sales associate licensees to complete forty-eight (48) hours of post-license education courses within two (2) years of obtaining a real estate license.  The law is codified in KRS 324.085 and goes into effect on January 1, 2016.

All active licensees who were originally licensed in Kentucky after June 19, 1976 are subject to the continuing education requirements--six hours each calendar year, with at least three hours in an approved legal topic. Once every four years, each licensee subject to the requirements must take the six-hour Kentucky Core Course.

Renewal Cycle: Annual 

Renewal Deadline: January 1 through December 31

Core Hours: 3 hours on Real Estate Law. Once every four years 6 hours of Kentucky Core course must be completed

Frequently Asked Questions


How Do I Renew My Kentucky Real Estate License?

Licensees will be able to renew their licenses online through the Kentucky Real Estate Commission site.

How Much Does It Cost To Renew My Real Estate License?

Salesperson: $60.00

Broker: $60.00

Does Kentucky Have Reciprocity With Any Other State?

Kentucky will accept continuing education taken in other states provided it meets certain requirements. Please refer to the Out of State Compliance Form on the KREC website for specific information.

Who Submits Completed Continued Education?

Real Estate Training Institute will submit all completed courses to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. Students will have a downloadable copy of their certificate of completion for their records.

Are you approved through the state?

We are currently awaiting state approval

Contact Information  

Kentucky Real Estate Commission
10200 Linn Station Road
Suite 201
Louisville, KY  40223

(502) 429-7250 - Office
(888) 373-3300 - Toll Free

Licensing Resources

http://krec.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx