MAINE REAL ESTATE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
Renewal Cycle: 2 Years
Renewal Deadline: Anniversary of initial licensure
CE Requirement: 21 hours
Required Courses: 3 hour core course
MAINE REAL ESTATE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What are my Maine real estate continuing education requirements?
Brokers, associate brokers, and designated brokers are required to complete 21 hours of approved continuing education, including the 3-hour core course (mandatory) each two-year license cycle.
Maine law prohibits a licensee from taking the same course twice within the same licensing cycle. As of 2002 the Maine Real Estate Commission ceased keeping records of licensees’ continuing education, purged all licensing files, and can no longer tell you which courses you may have taken for your current renewal.
How often must I renew my Maine real estate license?
Maine real estate licensees must be renewed every two years.
When do I need to renew my Maine real estate license?
Brokers in Maine need to renew their license every two years prior to the expiration date listed on their license. Licenses expire two years from original date of issuance.
Are your courses approved by Maine Real Estate Commission?
Yes! Our provider number is 853. Course approval numbers are included in the course title.
Do you report my continuing education to Maine Real Estate Commission?
No. The Main Real Estate Commission does not require providers to report course completions. We provide you with printable certificates available immediately upon course completion. You will need to retain a copy of your certificates for a period of four years, in case you are audited. We store your certificates in your profile for a five-year period.
How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?
Individual courses are available for six months from the date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the course work for the full length of your licensing cycle (2 years).
Do I have to complete the course at one time?
No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop. Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!
How do I renew my Maine real estate license?
The Main Real Estate Commission has moved to an online renewal process. Renewal notices and licenses are only being sent by email at this time. To renew your license, create an online account and then log in to renew your license. You will need a credit card to pay the renewal fee of $100 per licensing cycle.
How much does it cost to renew my Maine real estate license?
$100 | Real Estate Broker/Designated Broker/Associate Broker
A $50 late fee is assessed for licenses renewed within 90 calendar days after the expiration date.
I missed the due date for my Maine real estate license renewal, can I still renew?
Yes, if you have completed your continuing education requirements. You cannot renew your license until you have completed the required CE. There is a 90-day period after your license expires in which you can first complete your CE; then submit a late renewal. You may not practice during the time the license is expired and you will be assessed a $50 late renewal fee in addition to the renewal fee.
Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Maine real estate license is inactive?
No. There is no continuing education requirement to renew an inactive license. However, you will need to complete the required CE when you wish to return to active status.
- Inactive up to 2 years – 21 hours of CE including the current core course
- Inactive more than 2 years but less than 4 years – 28 hours of CE including the current core course
- Inactive more than 4 years but less than 6 years – 36 hours of CE including the current core course
- Licensees who are inactive for 6 or more years must complete the Maine Laws exam administered by Pearson VUE with a minimum grade of 75% and submit a new license application.
Does Maine have reciprocity with other states?
Yes. An equal license may be issued to any person who holds a current and active real estate license in another jurisdiction after meeting the requirements for the license. Upon completion of the requirements, the applicant is eligible to become licensed by the Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. A non-resident licensee must be affiliated with a Maine licensed real estate agent to be eligible to perform brokerage services.
HOW TO OBTAIN A MAINE REAL ESTATE LICENSE
How do I obtain a Maine real estate license?
Maine has three levels of licensing for real estate professionals.
The first step is to obtain your Sales Agent license. The license is good for two years. At the end of that two years, you apply to become an Associate Broker. The Sales Agent license is not renewable and cannot be inactive.
An Associate Broker license is good for two years. This level of license may be renewed. An associate broker licensee must be affiliated with a licensed real estate agent to be eligible to perform brokerage services. This license may be held on inactive status.
A Real Estate Broker/Designated Broker license is good for two years. A broker licensee must be affiliated with a licensed real estate agent to be eligible to perform brokerage services. In addition, a licensed real estate broker may act as a designated broker for an agency and, as such, is responsible for the actions of the agency and its associates or employees. This license may be held on inactive status.
To get started:
- Application/License fee: $100
- Criminal Records Check Fee: $21
- 2 years (Note: Sales Agent’s license is non-renewable)
- Completed License Application
- Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
- Be at least 18 at time of application for the license
- Sales Agent
- Complete the Sales Agent course with a minimum final grade of 75%
- Pass the sales agent licensing examination, administered by Pearson VUE, with a minimum final grade of 75% within one year of passing the Sales Agent course. See the Candidate Handbook for more detailed information about licensing requirements and instructions for scheduling an examination.
- Associate Broker
- Complete two years practice as an actively licensed sales agent
- Complete the 60-hour Associate Broker Course (plus Documented Field Experience Form) with a minimum final grade of 75%
- Real Estate Broker/Designated Broker
- Completed the Designated Broker Course with a minimum final grade of 75% and submit the original course completion certificate with the application. Must apply for the broker license within one calendar year of completing the course
- Have been licensed as an associate broker affiliated with a real estate brokerage agency for 2 years within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application.