NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

Renewal Cycle: 2 Years
Renewal Deadline: November 30th

  • Even Years - If your license starts with an even number
  • Odd Years - If your license starts with an odd number

CE Requirement: 18 hours
Required Courses: 12 hours in designated subject matter.

Nebraska Real Estate License Frequently Asked Questions

How Do I Renew My Nebraska Real Estate License?

Submit Renewal Form Online

How often must I renew my Nebraska real estate salesperson or broker license?

All real estate licenses must be renewed once every two years, in the same year your continuing education is due. The Commission will need evidence of your errors and omissions insurance to be submitted prior to or with the renewal unless already on file with NREC. Renewals are due on or before November 30.

How much real estate continuing education is required for my license?

Nebraska licensees are required to take 18 hours of continuing education each two-year cycle. Of that 18 hours, 12 hours must be in designated subject areas. Courses that are approved for designated subject areas contain an “R” in the approval number.

What is the renewal fee for my Nebraska real estate license?

Salesperson Renewal Fee (2 years) - $230
Broker Renewal Fee (2 Year) - $290

Late Renewal Penalty Fee – Salesperson & Broker (per month, or portion thereof, from December thru June) - $25

For a complete list of fees, click here.

Are you approved by the state?

Yes! Our courses are approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. NREC approval numbers are listed in the title of the course.

Can Nebraska real estate licensee continuing education be waived?

No, however continuing education requirements are deferred until the license is transferred from inactive to active. At that time, the licensee will need to complete 12 hours of continuing education with at least 6 of those hours in designated subject areas.

What are the renewal requirements for inactive Nebraska licensees?

A licensee on inactive status is not required to complete any continuing education prior to renewing their inactive license. Licenses can only be inactive for three years.

I am unable to complete my Nebraska real estate continuing education by my expiration date, can I still renew?

Yes, licensees may renew their license after the expiration date. Continuing education must be completed before a license may be renewed. There is a late fee of $25 per month that the license is expired. Licensees must renew their license prior to June 30 or they will be required to re-take and pass the exam. Continuing education requirements must be met before the licensee will be approved by the NREC to take the exam.


HOW TO OBTAIN A NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON OR BROKER LICENSE

How do I obtain a Nebraska real estate license?

Step 1: Meet the prelicensure requirements

Salesperson

  • Be at least 19 years of age
  • Possess a High School Diploma or GED
  • Complete 60 hours (2 courses) of Pre-License Education

Associate Broker/Broker

  • Be at least 19 years of age
  • Possess a High School Diploma or GED
  • Complete 180 hours (6 courses) of Pre-License Education

    or

  • Be at least 19 years of age
  • Possess a High School Diploma or GED
  • Complete 120 hours (4 courses) of Pre-License Education
  • 2 years full-time Salesperson Experience or part-time equivalent

Step 2: Complete the State Application

Items Needed to Complete Application for Examination

  • Course Completion Certificates (or Transcript from College/University)
  • Correct Fee –
    • Application Fee – $135
    • Examination Fee – $150
    • Examination Retake Fee (within one year of application) – $150
  • High School Diploma or G.E.D.
  • Lawsuit or Criminal Information on Application Complete
  • Current Passport-Type Photo
  • Work Experience Complete
  • Application Complete
  • Verification from School
  • For Brokers – Salesperson Experience Questionnaire

Salesperson Application

Broker Application

Step 3: Pass the Exam

Only applicants who have been pre-approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission will be able to register for the exam. NREC will notify the testing company, Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) of those eligible to take the exam. Applicants will contact AMP directly to schedule their exam.

Examination Sites

For more information on testing procedures contact AMP directly at 913-895-4600 or www.goamp.com

Step 4: Submit the Items Needed to Issue a Real Estate License

Applicants must complete the licensing process within thirty (30) days of being notified that a passing grade has been received.

Active Salespersons or Associate Brokers

  • The appropriate license fee
    • Salesperson - $115
    • Broker/Associate Broker - $145
  • Your original score report with picture intact. Photocopies will not be accepted. Score reports are issued by the examination administrator immediately following the exam.
  • Submit the License Issuance Form – this form must be signed by the employing broker, agreeing to employ the applicant as a salesperson or associate broker and the applicant, agreeing to be employed by the broker.
  • Proof of Errors & Omission insurance coverage – If enrolled in the Commission-offered plan, the insurer will provide verification of coverage to NREC after your application and premium have been processed. If your coverage is issued through a non-Commission-offered plan, you must submit a Certification of Equivalent Coverage form completed by the insurer.

    Verification of the insurance coverage must be received by NREC before the active license will be issued. Allow 7-10 days for verification from Insurer.

Inactive Salespersons or Inactive Brokers

  • The appropriate license fee
    • Salesperson - $115
    • Broker/Associate Broker - $145
  • Your original score report with picture intact. Photocopies will not be accepted. Score reports are issued by the examination administrator immediately following the exam.
  • Submit a letter requesting that the license be issued on inactive status.

Active Brokers (other than Associate Brokers)

  • The appropriate license fee
    • Broker - $145
  • Your original score report with picture intact. Photocopies will not be accepted. Score reports are issued by the examination administrator immediately following the exam.
  • Submit the Designated Broker License Issuance Form
  • Proof of Errors & Omission insurance coverage – If enrolled in the Commission-offered plan, the insurer will provide verification of coverage to NREC after your application and premium have been processed. If your coverage is issued through a non-Commission-offered plan, you must submit a Certification of Equivalent Coverage form completed by the insurer.
  • Determine how you will be doing business as a broker. If employing other brokers or salespersons, submit the License Issuance Form. An individual broker may operate in their name (John Jones, Broker or John Jones, Real Estate Broker), under a trade name, as a corporation, partnership or as a limited liability company.

    Visit http://www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/licenseissuechecklist.html to determine which documents you will need to submit.


 

Contact Information  

Nebraska Real Estate Commission
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94667
Lincoln, NE 68509-4667

Phone: (402) 471-2004
Fax: (402) 471-4492
Email: realestate.commission@nebraska.gov