NEVADA REAL ESTATE LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS
Renewal Cycle: 2 Years
Renewal Deadline: Anniversary of initial licensure
1st Renewal CE: 30 hours
1st Renewal CE Requirements: 3 hours of each of Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law & Legislation
Subsequent Renewal CE Requirement: 24 hours
Required Courses: 12 hours of core credits
- Salespersons: 3 hours each of Nevada Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law
- Brokers: 3 hours each of Nevada Agency & Law; 2 hours each of Contracts, Ethics, and Broker Management.
Only half of Nevada continuing education can be taken online.
NEVADA REAL ESTATE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What are my Nevada real estate continuing education requirements?
Salespersons and Brokers in Nevada are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education for the first licensing cycle, and 24 hours for each subsequent licensing cycle.
- The first licensing cycle must consist of 3 hours each of Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law & Legislation and 18 hours of general courses (a maximum of 3 hours in personal development). At least 15 of these 30 hours must be taken through live instruction.
- For subsequent renewals, the requirements for Salesperson and Brokers differ slightly. All licensees are required to take 24 hours of continuing education courses.
- Salespersons must take 3 hours each of Agency, Contracts, Ethics, and Law; and 12 hours of general courses.
- Brokers must take 3 hours each of Agency and Law; 2 hours each of Contracts, Ethics, and Broker Management; and 12 hours of general courses.
Only half of your continuing education can be completed online.
When do I need to renew my Nevada real estate license?
Nevada real estate salesperson and broker licenses expire two years from the date of initial licensure. The expiration date is printed on your license, or you may use the License Lookup for your license number.
Are your courses approved by Nevada Real Estate Division?
Yes! Our course approval numbers are listed in the course title.
Do you report my continuing education to Nevada Real Estate Division?
Yes! The Nevada Real Estate Commission requires providers to report continuing education completion. We report course completion to NRED every three days. Please allow 24-48 hours for your course completion to be reflected in NRED’s system.
How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?
Individual courses are available for six months from the date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the coursework for the full length of your licensing cycle (2 years).
Do I have to complete the course at one time?
No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop. Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!
How do I renew my Nevada real estate license?
Renewal applications (Form 580) must be postmarked and mailed, hand-delivered, or completed online (Online Services) by the expiration date of your license. Renewals may be submitted 45 days or less in advance of the renewal date.
How much does it cost to renew my Nevada real estate license?
I missed the due date for my Nevada real estate license renewal, can I still renew?
Yes. An expired license may be renewed with a penalty for up to 12 months past the expiration date. You may not perform licensed activity while your license is expired non-renewed. To renew your expired license, use Form 580 (Application for Renewal of Real Estate License). If you fail to renew your license within 12 months, the license is considered closed. A new application for a license must be submitted with new exam results and new fingerprint verification and any other required documentation for an original license.
Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Nevada real estate license is inactive?
No. Licensees on inactive status are not required to submit continuing education certificates. However, the license will need to be renewed and fees paid in order to maintain an inactive license.
Does Nevada have reciprocity with other states?
Yes. An applicant that holds a current real estate license in another state may meet the qualification for the Nevada Salesperson License. In addition to the state’s and license levels listed below the following information is required:
- Form 549
- Certified license history
- The Nevada real estate law exam passing certificate
- Proof of fingerprints
- Non-resident completes the Form 656
- Non-US citizens submit a copy of their current work permit, or perm resident card, visa, etc.
- Education certificates are NOT required
Applicants that hold a current Salesperson or a higher level real estate license in the states listed below qualify for the reciprocal Nevada Salesperson:
- Arizona; Colorado; Delaware; Idaho; Kentucky; Louisiana; Minnesota; Texas; Utah; West Virginia
Application that holds a current Broker, Broker-Associate, or a Broker-Salesperson real estate license in the states listed below qualify for the reciprocal Nevada Real Estate Salesperson license.
- Arizona; California; Colorado; Connecticut; Delaware; District of Columbia; Florida; Idaho; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maine; Maryland; Michigan; Minnesota; New Jersey; New Mexico; New York; Ohio; Oregon; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; Texas; Utah; Virginia; West Virginia
HOW TO OBTAIN A NEVADA REAL ESTATE LICENSE
How do I obtain a Nevada real estate license?
Step 1: Complete your Required Education
- Salesperson – You must submit proof of pre-licensing education by transcripts or certificates. A total of 90 hours is required, and must include:
- 45 hours (3 college credits) Real Estate Principles
- 45 hours (3 college credits) Real Estate Law which must include 18 hours of Nevada Law
- Broker Salesperson – You must accrue a total of 64 semester credit hours or experience equivalent. Experience may be used in place of most education certificates or transcripts, with the exception of 45-hour (3 college credits) Broker Management course and 18 hours of Nevada law.
- The 64-semester credits must include:
- 3 credits (45 hours) Real Estate Principles (or licensed experience)
- 3 credits (45 hours) Real Estate Law (or licensed experience) – Course must include 18 hours of Nevada Law (there is no experience waiver for this requirement)
- 3 credits (45 hours) Real Estate Appraisal course (or licensed experience)
- 3 credits (45 hours) Broker Management course
- 15 credits in other real estate related courses such as business, economics, management, accounting, finance, and marketing (or licensed experience)
- 37 college-level units from any college, military education, technical school, etc. (or licensed experience)
- For every 2 years of real estate licensed experience, Nevada will allow 16 college credits towards the education components. Experience in two-year increments are granted in the following credits:
8 years = 64 credits
6 years = 48 credits
4 years = 32 credits
2 years = 16 credits
- To qualify for licensed experience to show proof that experience was full-time and your license is current you must submit the following:
- Original certified history of licensure (Date of history expires after 90 days.)
- Form 509 (for experience as a salesperson or broker/salesperson). Experience must be within the past ten years and your employing broker at the time must verify experience.
- Broker – You must meet the education requirements for a Broker Salesperson, and must furnish proof of 2 years of active full-time experience within the last 4 years (Form 509).
- The 64-semester credits must include:
Step 2: Complete your Fingerprinting and Background Check
- Fingerprint Cards: Submit two (2) fingerprint cards and a cashier’s check or money order for $36.25 made payable to the “Department of Public Safety” OR a certification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor (Form 619).
Step 3: Pass the exam
- Pearson VUE examination service provides the proof of passing certificate for a Nevada Real Estate Broker or Salesperson exam. All applicants must provide proof of passing both the state and National/General exam.
Step 4: Submit the application
- After requirements have been met, submit your completed application and check cashier’s check, or money order payable to Nevada Real Estate Division. Cash and credit cards are accepted for in-person counter transactions.
- Salesperson - $125
- Broker - $145
Nevada Real Estate Division
Nevada State Business Center
3300 W. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89102
Phone: 702.486.4033 – Option #1