Florida Real Estate License Fees Cut 50%

A little relief comes to FL Real Estate professionals beginning July 1, 2019. Gov. Ron DeSantis and DBPR joined FREC in announcing a fee change for 200,000 licensees in Florida.

The lower renewal cost begins with the next renewal cycle that ends on Sept. 30, 2019. The temporary fee reduction, which lowers license renewal fees by 50% for licenses of real estate brokers, real estate sales associates and real estate broker branch offices will continue through the renewal periods of licenses expiring March 31, 2020, Sept. 30, 2020, and March 31, 2021.

License renewal fees for real estate brokers will drop from $72.00 to $36.00 and from $64.00 to $32.00 for renewal as a real estate sales associate or broker branch office.

The upcoming license fee reduction is projected to result in an estimated savings of over $8.8 million dollars for eligible license holders in Florida. Pursuant to section 455.219, Florida Statutes, FREC is authorized to implement a waiver of license renewal fees for a period not to exceed two years when the profession's trust fund monies exceed the amount required to cover the necessary functions of FREC.


Don't let your license expire!

Here are the requirements needed to renew your Florida real estate license:

How do I renew my Florida real estate license?

Florida requires all real estate licensees to renew their license through their Online Service portal. If you have not already registered, you will need to do so before you may renew your license. Once you have registered, you will receive an email with a temporary password and then you will create your own unique, secure password. (Check your spam or junk mail folder if you don’t receive that email right away.) After you have successfully logged in you will be able to link your license to the online account you created.

Create your Online Account
Link Your License to Your Online Account

How much does it cost to renew my Florida real estate license?

$32 | Sales Associates
$36 | Brokers

CE Requirement 1st Renewal:

  • Sales Associate - 45 hours
  • Brokers - 60 hours

CE Requirement Subsequent Renewal: 14 Hours
Required Courses: 3-Hour Florida Core Law

Do you report my continuing education to the Florida Real Estate Commission?

Yes! We will report your course completion to the Florida Real Estate Commission. Rosters are submitted three times a week and can take 24-48 hours to be reflected in the FREC database.

Listings and Technological Ethics for Florida Sales Agents and Brokers

Listings and Technological Ethics is the focus of a 3-hour course created by instructor Steve Carvelli.

The first part of the course, Listings, will outline types of listings; how to match type to a clients’ needs and expectations, and how to effectively price the commission and/or fee for the listing. This course will also look at marketing strategies that generate listings, how to measure their effectiveness relative to the overall market; and most importantly, how the conduct of our business in this technology-laden environment relates to listing generation and marketing.

The second chapter, Technology, and Ethics will discuss the conduct of brokers, agents, and all practitioners of real estate. We will look at changes in conduct caused by technology, and how the ethical considerations for such conduct have been affected, or perhaps not affected. We will look at the ethical issues that persist in our practice over time, the new ones that are evolving, and the new emerging issues that will populate our future.

After completing the course in its entirety, you will be able to:

  1. To provide real estate licensees the tools and resources to enhance their listing literacy and better apply and adapt the contractual types to client need and expectations.
  2. To review and strengthen the ethical framework that a licensee should utilize when soliciting and taking listings.
  3. To develop and even expand a licensee’s knowledge of the ethical considerations that arise with the growing use of technology in the real estate industry.

Florida Real Estate Sales Associates and Brokers, are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license including 3-hours of Florida Core Law and 3-hours of Ethics and Business Practices.  If you are a member of NAR, you are required to complete a Code of Ethics course before 12/31 in order to renew your membership.


ONLINE FLORIDA STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION