Missouri License Renewal COVID-19 Update and FAQs

When do I need to renew my Missouri real estate license?

Due to COVID-19, Missouri has issued the following license renewal deadline extensions:

  • The current 2020 Broker renewal and CE deadlines have been extended until August 31, 2020.
  • The current 2020 Salesperson renewal and CE deadlines have been extended until October 31, 2020. The renewal period for Salesperson licenses begins August 1, 2020 and will run through October 31, 2020.

Click here for more detailed COVID-19 policy update information.

What are my Missouri real estate continuing education requirements?

Salespersons and Brokers in Missouri are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education each two-year license cycle. At least three hours are required to be in a core topic (MO Laws, Broker Supervision and Escrow Account Management, Fair Housing, Property Management, Commercial Brokerage or Agency and Brokerage Relationships).

Are your courses approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission?

Yes! Our school ID is 30300. Course approval numbers are included in the course title.

Do you report my continuing education to the Missouri Real Estate Commission?

Yes! We will report your continuing education course completion to the Missouri Real Estate Commission within 10 days. It can take 24-48 hours for the completed course to be reflected in your online profile.

How long do I have to complete my courses after I purchase them?

Individual courses are available for six months from the date of purchase. The purchase of a package will give you access to the course work for the full length of your licensing cycle (2 years).

Do I have to complete courses all at one time?

No! You do not have to complete each course in one sitting. Your courses are available to you from any internet enabled device, and our system will keep track of where you start and stop.

Our courses are usually broken into 20-25 minutes intervals, which will make it easy for you to complete your course when it’s convenient for you!

How do I renew my Missouri real estate license?

Missouri Real Estate Commission will mail out a paper renewal notice that will include your license number and PIN. This is usually sent mid to late April for brokers and mid to late July for Salespersons. Once you have that information you will be able to renew your license online.

How much does it cost to renew my Missouri real estate license?

$50 | Broker (Active or inactive)

$40 | Salesperson (Active or inactive)

$150 | Non-Resident Broker (Active or inactive)

$100 | Non-Resident Salesperson (Active or inactive)

Fees Schedule

I missed the due date for my Missouri real estate license renewal, can I still renew?

Yes, however, your license will not be considered active, and you will not be able to engage in any real estate activity until your license is reinstated to active status. Late renewals are subject to a $50 per month or partial month penalty, up to a $200 maximum. Late renewals cannot be submitted online.

Do I have to complete any continuing education if my Missouri real estate license is inactive?

No. Continuing education is not required while on inactive status, however, before the licensee can activate the license, completion of the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course is required.

Does Missouri have reciprocity with other states?

Yes, Missouri does have provisions for individuals who hold a real estate license in another state/jurisdiction. Click here for more information.

 


ONLINE MISSOURI-APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION

Avoid Common Mistakes When Renewing Your License

Real estate professionals are required to renew their license at the end of their state’s renewal cycle. Here are a few common renewal issues to avoid:

  1. Understand the difference between code and core.  Code of Ethics (COE) is a class NAR requires all REALTORS to take once every two-year cycle. It’s not required for a state license but it is a requirement to keep your REALTOR membership. Core is continued education implemented by a state and is a requirement to renew on the state level, separate from NAR membership.
  2. Make sure you complete the appropriate number of CE credits. E.g., Idaho Real Estate Commission requires 12 CE credits per renewal cycle, in addition to the 2 CE credits required for core. If a licensee is not sure how many CE credits they should take for their state, they can look up the continuing education requirements at Real Estate Training Institute. Real Estate Training Institute offers online CE classes in HD video or fully narrated, with printable text.
  3. Don't forget your post-license requirements. Many real estate professionals miss their post-license education requirements and jump right into their continuing education. The state will not allow you to renew your license if you haven't completed the state required post-license courses.

Real Estate professionals must be aware of the renewal cycle they’re on and how many CE credits to take.  It’s important to not wait until the last minute to renew your license. Visit Real Estate Training Institute and get your CE credits done quick and easy.


ONLINE STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION