If you’re a realtor in Michigan and you want to keep your license, listen up. Anyone who became licensed before August 2nd, 2018 is required to complete 18 hours of continuing education before October 31st, 2018. That includes 6 hours of approved continuing education for each year of the licensing cycle and 2 hours of continuing education each calendar year in Legal Updates.
The deadline is fast approaching, here’s a breakdown of what you need to know to maintain your good status as a Michigan realtor.
Who: Michigan real estate brokers and salespersons need to complete mandatory licensing, and Legal Update education courses
What: Brokers and salespersons must finish 18 hours of continuing education courses, including two hours of Legal Update courses by the deadline.
When: October 31st, 2018 is the deadline to complete these courses. It’s also the deadline to renew your license.
Where: You can complete your training online with courses you can access from any computer.
How: Finish your continuing education on your own time and with your own computer from anywhere with an internet connection. These courses let you print out a certificate immediately upon completion.
License renewal costs:
$108 - brokers
$78 - salespersons
$60 - branch offices
What if I don’t complete my continuing education by October 31st?
It’s not good news. The Michigan Department Licensing and Regulatory Affairs audit Michigan realtors regularly. If they find out you have not completed your requirements, they will require you to complete additional hours of continuing education. It could be four to eight more hours, which will not count towards the next licensing cycle’s continuing education hours.
What if I don’t renew my license by October 31st?
There is a 60 day grace period. Breathe. You’ll be okay, but the grace period ends December 31, 2018. If you renew in this time it will, however, cost you a $20 late fee.
What happens if my Michigan real estate salesperson or broker license is expired more than 60 days?
Michigan salespeople and brokers must complete reinstatement forms in order to renew their licensing. You will have to complete a salesperson reinstatement form or a broker reinstatement form in order to renew.
- If your license is expired between 60 days & 3 years
Pay an application processing fee, a late renewal fee, and the per year licensing fee. In addition, you must satisfy any penalties and conditions imposed by Michigan or any other jurisdiction.
- If your license has been expired more than 3 years
You will have to meet requirements set by the Department of Professional Licensing. You may be required to pass all or part of an exam or meet current education or training requirements.
ONLINE STATE-APPROVED REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION