Five Easy Steps to Get your Texas Real Estate License
Published on April 21, 2020 by Kaylee
So you decided to become a Texas real estate agent? That’s amazing news! It’s a decision that can put you on a career path where you have more control over your schedule and income, but first, you have to earn your Texas real estate license. Getting licensed for your new career in Texas real estate might seem a bit overwhelming, but we’re here to guide you through the process. This real estate licensing information summarizes the minimum requirements established by the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC). To begin you must meet the following initial qualifications:
- Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
- 18 years of age or older
- Resident of Texas
- Meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity.
- Consider requesting a Moral Character Determination before applying for the license.
Once you meet the initial qualifications, it’s time to get started on the path to a great career! Read on for a further breakdown of the path to becoming a licensed real estate agent in Texas!
Step 1: Complete your Qualifying Education
For a Sales Agent: 180 Classroom hours of the following qualifying real estate courses
- Principles of Real Estate I (30 hours)
- Principles of Real Estate II (30 hours)
- Law of Agency (30 hours)
- Law of Contracts (30 hours)
- Promulgated Contract Forms (30 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (30 hours)
Education course completion documents must be submitted to TREC after applying online or with your paper application.
Step 2: File Your Application
Apply Online – Submit your application and fee to become a Sales Agent ($205) using TREC’s Online Services log in now. If you don’t already have a username and password for Online Services, you’ll need to register first.
Apply by Mail – You can also apply for your Sales Agent license using TREC’s paper application. This may take longer to process, and you will need to pay a paper filing fee ($20).
*You have one year from the date your application is filed to meet all license requirements.
Step 3: Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed.
Step 4: Take the Exam
License exams are administered by PearsonVUE.
You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook.
Step 5: Find a Sponsor
After meeting the above requirements, you will be issued an inactive Sales Agent license. You need to be sponsored by an active Texas licensed broker to work. You can complete a sponsorship request using TREC’s online services. Once the broker has accepted your request, your active license will be issued, and you can work as a Sales Agent!
- 90 hours of qualifying post licensure real estate courses, including the following, are required after receiving your license and within your first year:
- Property Management (30 hours)
- Real Estate Sales and Marketing (30 hours)
- Real Estate Marketing (30 hours)
We provide: Texas approved qualifying education that meets all of the requirements to take your salesperson exam, required post-license and continuing education courses.
All classes are HD VIDEO or FULL NARRATION or PRINTABLE TEXT